With over 130 years of combined experience, Pacific Workers’ Compensation Law Center is the firm to call if you need workers’ comp assistance in Northern California. We have seen the devastating effects workplace injuries can have on an individual’s life and the lives of their family firsthand, many, many times. That’s why we always argue to secure maximum compensation on behalf of our clients. For an experienced Concord workers’ compensation lawyer backed by a variety of resources and skills, cutting-edge legal techniques and methods, and experience in a wide range of workers’ compensation matters, call (888) 740-6434 now.
What to Know About Workers’ Compensation
As an employer-funded insurance program, workers’ compensation exists to provide you with necessary financial aid in the case you are injured in an accident or become seriously ill while at work. No matter what occupation you have, all employers must either purchase workers’ compensation insurance or become self-insured under California state law.
However, the sad reality is that insurance companies’ first and foremost goal is to protect their bottom line, and sometimes, they will work with your employer to ensure you receive the minimum amount of coverage. That’s why our Concord workers’ comp lawyers provide legal assistance designed to maximize your claim. From documenting evidence related to your case and filing necessary paperwork to appealing denied claims before a workers’ compensation administrative law judge, we assist you from beginning to end, always advocating for your best interests and working to protect your well-being.
At Pacific Workers’ Compensation Law Center, we work to make sure you receive full benefits for:
- Reimbursement for medical bills
- Temporary and permanent disability benefits
- Supplemental job displacement benefits
- Death benefits to dependents of deceased workers
How Long Do I Have to Report an Injury?
Workers' compensation claims can be broken down into three main steps, reporting the injury, filing a claim, filing an “application for adjudication of claim” with the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board. The state of California imposes time limits on each of these steps in order to file a successful workers' compensation claim.
You have 30 days to give your employer a written notice of your injury after the date of your injury. The only exception to this is if your injury happened gradually, such as repetitive stress injury or an occupational disease. In this case, you have 30 days from the date you first missed work from your injury, saw a doctor because of your injury, or reasonably should have known an injury was a result of your job.
Your employer should give you a workers' compensation claim form, or Form DWC-1, to fill out within one business day of reporting your injury or illness. It is important to list in detail what part of the body your injury is affecting in detail in order to give a complete account of your injury. Once Form DWC-1 is submitted, your employer's insurance company is required to approve funds to cover your medical expenses, however, the insurance company has 90 days to determine if your claim is approved regardless if payment was approved.
Call Today to Schedule a Free Case Evaluation
We understand that fighting for workers’ compensation can be difficult. That’s why our Concord workers’ compensation attorneys provide compassionate and comprehensive service so that this process brings as little stress as possible into your life. If you have been injured in an accident while at work, there is hope. Just call Pacific Workers’ Compensation Law Center today.
Our Concord workers’ compensation team includes members who have received the following honors:
- AV® Rated by Martindale-Hubbell®
- Superb Avvo Rating for Ethics & Skill
- Included in California Super Lawyers®
To schedule your free estimate, just dial (888) 740-6434. We are available 24/7 to discuss your case.