What Are the Benefits of California Workers' Compensation?
How much does California Workers' Compensation pay for lost wages? How is California Workers' Comp. calculated? Whom should you visit first? If you have been injured at your workplace, then you might be eligible for California Worker’s compensation. Let's go over some of the key benefits you can receive when you file a Workers' Compensation claim!
Getting medical care through Workers' Compensation is not always easy or convenient. Insurance adjusters and utilization reviews act as road blocks to getting the treatment you need and your doctor wants. However, one thing about Workers' Compensation medical treatment that can't be beat? The insurance company must pay for everything. Anything you spend out of pocket on approved treatment has to be reimbursed, up to and including travel costs from getting to and from your appointments. Make sure that you keep good record of all mileage and expenses.
If you cannot work, or your workplace is unable to accommodate your work restrictions, you will receive Temporary Disability (TD) payments. This is designed to replace your lost wages while you recover from your injury. You are entitled to this benefit if you miss work for three consecutive days or more because of your injury. According to the law of California, the reimbursement will be 2/3 of your average weekly wage. Moreover, overtime can often be included in this calculation. There is a cap of $1,128.43 per week -- $4800 per month -- for Temporary Disability payments. You do not pay taxes on this income.
If you can work, but not as much as you used to, or in a capacity that earns less money, you will receive Temporary Partial Disability (TPD) payments. These cover 2/3 of the difference between your current weekly wage and your average weekly wage prior to your injury.
Permanent disability benefit
Permanent disability is designed to compensate you for any permanent disability resulting from your injury. The maximum benefit is $290 per week, and you can receive it from three to ninety-nine weeks, depending on the severity of your disability. In the most severe cases of disability, you will not receive a PD benefit, but will, instead, receive a Life Pension. A Life Pension is TD for the rest of your life.
Job displacement benefit
If the employer does have a suitable job to match your disability within 60 days of the end of temporary disability, you will be entitled to job displacement benefit. You will get a $6,000 voucher as a benefit for skill enhancement, which you can use to get ready for a new career!
Compensation for an Injury Resulting in Death
The death benefit will be given to the spouse, children, or any other dependent. The beneficiaries will get a lump sum of $250,000 to $320,000 as compensation.
An important note:
Workers' Compensation is designed to offer medical help and to replaces the wages that you have lost due to your injury. But in order to file your claim, you need to inform your employer about the injury as soon as possible. In some cases, if you do not report within a month, you will not be eligible to receive Workers' Compensation benefits. However, a good Workers' Compensation attorney may be able to help with these statutory issues, so if you've gone over 30 days without reporting a Workers' Compensation injury, don't despair -- just call a Workers' Compensation lawyer.
Once you report your injury and file the claim, these are some of the main benefits you can receive from California Workers' Compensation! If you have been injured at work, make sure to call a Workers' Compensation attorney today.